Competency Guidelines & Crosswalks


Introduction to Massachusetts Competency Guidelines for Culturally Sensitive, Relationship-focused Practice Promoting Infant Mental Health®

Below is an introduction to the Massachusetts Competency Guidelines for Culturally Sensitive, Relationship-focused Practice Promoting Infant Mental Health®.

The complete guide is available to MassAIMH members only.

Access the Complete Guide

“The materials supporting the MassAIMH Competency Guidelines® are copyrighted by the Michigan Association for Infant Mental Health (MI-AIMH). MassAIMH is able to make these materials available to our membership and collaborators through a licensing agreement with the MI-AIMH.

Copyright law does allow individuals to print out or make ONE copy of copyrighted material for personal, non-commercial purposes only. None of the copyrighted Endorsement® documents included here may be reproduced, displayed, distributed or otherwise used in any format, including electronically, without the express written consent of MI-AIMH. Legal action will be taken against those who violate the copyright.”

The Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Early Education and Care and MassAIMH, and a number of additional state agencies and private partners have a strong interest in building the competence of the early childhood and family support workforces around young children’s social emotional development and mental health.

The primary goal of the MassAIMH Competency Guidelines Task Force has been to crosswalk IECMH competencies to existing state, local, and regional trainings. These trainings are designed to build a more skillful and confident workforce with experiences, materials, and learning tools that support early relationship development. This crosswalk is available in the Professional Development Resource Guide.

There are four categories of competency within this system:

  1. Infant/ Early Childhood Family Associate
  2. Infant/Early Childhood Family Specialist
  3. Infant/Early Childhood Mental Health Specialist
  4. Infant/Early Childhood Mental Health Mentor (CLINICAL, POLICY, RESEARCH/FACULTY)

Each category recognizes the educational experiences, specialized in-service training experiences, and
work experiences appropriate for best service outcomes for infants, very young children, and families.


The Competency Guidelines® are aligned with many in-service training and evidence-based practice models. The crosswalks below support applicants as a reference to document the competencies they have earned through the following trainings towards their endorsement application. The following crosswalks are available for use and reference:

The following crosswalks are available for use and reference ONLY in Massachusetts: